Aventon Abound SR: specs, fit, warranty and alternatives
Last checked Oct 23, 2026 · By EbikePost editors
We compare makers' published specs, warranties and return policies; we don't ride the bikes. How we score →
Disclosure: EbikePost earns a commission from some brands when you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. This never changes our scores.
Style photoQuick facts
- Class
- Class 2
- Motor
- Rear hub, 80 Nm
- Battery
- 733 Wh
- Claimed range
- Up to 60 mi
- Weight
- 80 lb
- Max rider
- 440 lb
- Rider height
- 4'11"–6'3"
- Maker price
- $1,899
Maker price checked Oct 23, 2026 · source
Spec scores by use case
Based on 6 of 7 specs. Our score of published specs, not a road test. How we score
Based on 5 of 5 specs. Our score of published specs, not a road test. How we score
Based on 4 of 5 specs. Our score of published specs, not a road test. How we score
Based on 2 of 4 specs. Our score of published specs, not a road test. How we score
Based on 4 of 4 specs. Our score of published specs, not a road test. How we score
Based on 4 of 5 specs. Our score of published specs, not a road test. How we score
Based on 4 of 4 specs. Our score of published specs, not a road test. How we score
Suits
- Carrying one passenger or a load on the rear rack (143 lb rack limit)
- Riders 4'11" to 6'3" on a compact 20-inch-wheel step-through
- Short trips with cargo
Skip it if
- You want a light bike: the listed weight is 80 lb
- You want a 28 mph top speed (20 mph, adjustable to 25)
Full specs
Motor & power
| Class | Class 2 |
|---|---|
| Motor | Rear hub, 80 Nm |
| Motor power | 750 W (1,188 W peak) |
| Sensor | torque |
| Throttle | Yes |
| Top assisted speed | 20 mph |
| Gears | 8 |
Battery & range
| Battery | 733 Wh |
|---|---|
| Removable | Not stated |
| Second battery option | Not stated |
| Claimed range | Up to 60 mi |
Size, fit & weight
| Frame | step-through |
|---|---|
| Rider height | 4'11"–6'3" |
| Max rider | 440 lb |
| Max payload | Not stated |
| Weight | 80 lb |
| Folded size | Doesn't fold |
| Wheels × tires | 20" × 3" |
| Passenger | Yes |
Safety
| UL 2849 | UL 2849 certified |
|---|---|
| Brakes | Tektro HD-E3520 hydraulic disc, 180 mm front and 203 mm rear rotors |
Range estimate
Range estimator
Estimate, not a test. Real range varies.
About 27–39 miles
Maker's claimed range: Up to 60 mi
Assumptions (rule-of-thumb estimates)
- 90% of rated Wh is usable.
- Wh per mile at 180 lb, flat, ~15 mph: low 12, medium 17, high 24, throttle 30.
- +2.5% energy per 10 lb above 180 lb.
- Terrain ×1/1.15/1.35; speed ×0.92/1/1.25; cold ×1.1/1.3.
- Shown as a ±18% band; this setup uses about 20 Wh per mile.
Warranty, returns and service
Returns
14 days · restocking: None for new, unused bikes (1 mile or less on the odometer); 50% for used bikes (under 20 miles)
Return policy sourceService
Not stated
Help desk, contact form and a phone line (Mon to Fri, 9am to 4pm PST). The site has a Find a Bike Shop locator. Aventon brand page
Is it legal where you live?
This is general information, not legal advice. Rebates near you →
Compare with
Alternatives
FAQ
Is the Aventon Abound SR legal in my state?
It's listed as Class 2. Use the law checker above for your state's rules. This is general information, not legal advice.
How far will it really go?
The maker claims Up to 60 mi. Our estimator gives a band for your weight, terrain and assist level; real range varies.
Is the battery certified?
UL 2849 status: UL 2849 certified. Use the maker's charger and follow the manual. See CPSC micromobility safety.
Which use case does it score best for?
See the Spec scores above: one per use case, each from published specs only.
Sources (3)
- Aventon Abound SR product page and specifications (weight limit 440 lb is the maker's total weight limit)
- Aventon warranty
- Aventon return policy
Last checked Oct 23, 2026
