Skip to content
EbikePost

Velotric Discover 3: specs, fit, warranty and alternatives

Last checked Oct 24, 2026 · By EbikePost editors

We compare makers' published specs, warranties and return policies; we don't ride the bikes. How we score →

Disclosure: EbikePost earns a commission from some brands when you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. This never changes our scores.

Style photo of an unbranded commuter e-bike (not this exact model)Style photo

Quick facts

Class
Class 1/2/3 (switchable)
Motor
Hub motor, 75 Nm
Battery
730 Wh
Claimed range
Up to 80 mi
Weight
61 lb
Max rider
440 lb
Rider height
4'11"–6'7"
Maker price
$1,999

Maker price checked Oct 24, 2026 · source

Spec scores by use case

89/100 Spec score · Commuting

Based on 5 of 7 specs. Our score of published specs, not a road test. How we score

65/100 Spec score · Hills

Based on 5 of 5 specs. Our score of published specs, not a road test. How we score

77/100 Spec score · Cargo & family

Based on 3 of 5 specs. Our score of published specs, not a road test. How we score

40/100 Spec score · Folding & apartment

Based on 1 of 4 specs. Our score of published specs, not a road test. How we score

43/100 Spec score · Budget

Based on 4 of 4 specs. Our score of published specs, not a road test. How we score

86/100 Spec score · Heavier riders

Based on 4 of 5 specs. Our score of published specs, not a road test. How we score

78/100 Spec score · Easy on and off

Based on 3 of 4 specs. Our score of published specs, not a road test. How we score

Suits

  • Commutes with an 80 mm air fork, fenders and a rear rack (66 lb capacity)
  • Riders 4'11" to 6'7" across Regular and Large sizes (range depends on suspension seatpost)
  • Riders who want a throttle and an adjustable top speed (12 to 28 mph)

Skip it if

  • You want fat tires or a folding frame
  • You want a bike under 60 lb: the listed weight is 61 lb

Full specs

Motor & power

ClassClass 1/2/3 (switchable)
MotorHub motor, 75 Nm
Motor power750 W (1,100 W peak)
SensorNot stated
ThrottleYes
Top assisted speed28 mph
Gears8
Source

Battery & range

Battery730 Wh
RemovableNot stated
Second battery optionNot stated
Claimed rangeUp to 80 mi
Source

Size, fit & weight

FrameNot stated
Rider height4'11"–6'7"
Max rider440 lb
Max payloadNot stated
Weight61 lb
Folded sizeDoesn't fold
Wheels × tires27.5" × 2.4"
PassengerNot stated
Source

Safety

UL 2849UL 2849 certified
BrakesTektro hydraulic disc, 180 mm rotors
Source

Range estimate

Range estimator

Estimate, not a test. Real range varies.

About 27–39 miles

Maker's claimed range: Up to 80 mi

Assumptions (rule-of-thumb estimates)
  • 90% of rated Wh is usable.
  • Wh per mile at 180 lb, flat, ~15 mph: low 12, medium 17, high 24, throttle 30.
  • +2.5% energy per 10 lb above 180 lb.
  • Terrain ×1/1.15/1.35; speed ×0.92/1/1.25; cold ×1.1/1.3.
  • Shown as a ±18% band; this setup uses about 20 Wh per mile.

Warranty, returns and service

Warranty

Frame 5 yr · motor 2 yr · battery 2 yr

Warranty source

Returns

14 days · restocking: $200 per bike

Return policy source

Service

Not stated

The site promotes nearby support and a dealer locator; it does not state the number of dealers or mobile repair. Velotric brand page

Is it legal where you live?

This is general information, not legal advice. Rebates near you →

Compare with

Alternatives

FAQ

Is the Velotric Discover 3 legal in my state?

It's listed as Class 1/2/3 (switchable). Use the law checker above for your state's rules. This is general information, not legal advice.

How far will it really go?

The maker claims Up to 80 mi. Our estimator gives a band for your weight, terrain and assist level; real range varies.

Is the battery certified?

UL 2849 status: UL 2849 certified. Use the maker's charger and follow the manual. See CPSC micromobility safety.

Which use case does it score best for?

See the Spec scores above: one per use case, each from published specs only.

Sources (3)

Last checked Oct 24, 2026