Skip to content
EbikePost

Gotrax eCargo: specs, fit, warranty and alternatives

Last checked Oct 24, 2026 · By EbikePost editors

We compare makers' published specs, warranties and return policies; we don't ride the bikes. How we score →

Disclosure: EbikePost earns a commission from some brands when you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. This never changes our scores.

Style photo of an unbranded cargo e-bike (not this exact model)Style photo

Quick facts

Class
Class 2
Motor
Rear hub
Battery
499 Wh
Claimed range
Up to 50 mi
Weight
61 lb
Max rider
264 lb
Rider height
Not stated
Maker price
$698

Maker price checked Oct 24, 2026 · source

The maker's page showed this bike as sold out when we checked on Oct 24, 2026, so it isn't in our picks right now.

Spec scores by use case

32/100 Spec score · Commuting

Based on 4 of 7 specs. Our score of published specs, not a road test. How we score

29/100 Spec score · Hills

Based on 2 of 5 specs. Our score of published specs, not a road test. How we score

17/100 Spec score · Cargo & family

Based on 1 of 5 specs. Our score of published specs, not a road test. How we score

40/100 Spec score · Folding & apartment

Based on 1 of 4 specs. Our score of published specs, not a road test. How we score

100/100 Spec score · Budget

Based on 4 of 4 specs. Our score of published specs, not a road test. How we score

17/100 Spec score · Heavier riders

Based on 2 of 5 specs. Our score of published specs, not a road test. How we score

74/100 Spec score · Easy on and off

Based on 2 of 4 specs. Our score of published specs, not a road test. How we score

Suits

  • A 20 x 3 in cargo bike under $700
  • A 264 lb total weight limit (also listed as payload)
  • Short trips needing a 20 mph throttle limit

Skip it if

  • You want a stated battery removal or brake type: the page does not give them
  • You need a UL certification: none is stated on the page

Full specs

Motor & power

ClassClass 2
MotorRear hub
Motor power500 W
SensorNot stated
ThrottleYes
Top assisted speed20 mph
Gears7
Source

Battery & range

Battery499 Wh
RemovableNot stated
Second battery optionNot stated
Claimed rangeUp to 50 mi
Source

Size, fit & weight

FrameNot stated
Rider heightNot stated
Max rider264 lb
Max payloadNot stated
Weight61 lb
Folded sizeDoesn't fold
Wheels × tires20" × 3"
PassengerNot stated
Source

Safety

UL 2849Not stated by maker
Brakes
Source

Range estimate

Range estimator

Estimate, not a test. Real range varies.

About 18–26 miles

Maker's claimed range: Up to 50 mi

Assumptions (rule-of-thumb estimates)
  • 90% of rated Wh is usable.
  • Wh per mile at 180 lb, flat, ~15 mph: low 12, medium 17, high 24, throttle 30.
  • +2.5% energy per 10 lb above 180 lb.
  • Terrain ×1/1.15/1.35; speed ×0.92/1/1.25; cold ×1.1/1.3.
  • Shown as a ±18% band; this setup uses about 20 Wh per mile.

Warranty, returns and service

Warranty

Frame 2 yr · motor 2 yr · battery 2 yr

Warranty source

Returns

31 days · restocking: 25% for opened or lightly used bikes under 20 miles; none for unopened

Return policy source

Service

Direct only

Warranty claims go through support@gotrax.com or an online claim form with proof of purchase and photos or video. The warranty page does not mention partner bike shops and says Gotrax does not pay local shop installation fees. Gotrax brand page

Is it legal where you live?

This is general information, not legal advice. Rebates near you →

Compare with

Alternatives

FAQ

Is the Gotrax eCargo legal in my state?

It's listed as Class 2. Use the law checker above for your state's rules. This is general information, not legal advice.

How far will it really go?

The maker claims Up to 50 mi. Our estimator gives a band for your weight, terrain and assist level; real range varies.

Is the battery certified?

UL 2849 status: Not stated by maker. Use the maker's charger and follow the manual. See CPSC micromobility safety.

Which use case does it score best for?

See the Spec scores above: one per use case, each from published specs only.

Sources (3)

Last checked Oct 24, 2026