Aventon vs Lectric: Level 4 REC vs XPress2 Specs
Last checked Oct 24, 2026 · By EbikePost editors

Short answer
Choose the Lectric XPress2 for the lower maker price ($1,399) and a touch more torque; choose the Aventon Level 4 REC for the bigger battery, the longer warranty and no restocking fee on unused returns.
We compare makers' published specs, warranties and return policies; we don't ride the bikes. How we score →
Disclosure: EbikePost earns a commission from some brands when you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. This never changes our scores.
| Spec | Bike AAventon Level 4 RECMaker price $1,999 | Bike BLectric eBikes XPress2Maker price $1,399 |
|---|---|---|
| Price & value | ||
| Maker price | $1,999 | $1,399Better |
| Wh per $100 | 37 | 48Better |
| Financing | Affirm, from about $93 a month (0% APR if you qualify) | 0% APR or as low as $85 a month with Affirm |
| Motor & hills | ||
| Class | Class 2 | Class 1/2/3 (switchable) |
| Motor type | Rear hub | Rear hub |
| Motor power | 750 W (1,188 W peak) | 750 W (1,310 W peak) |
| Torque | 80 Nm | 85 NmBetter |
| Sensor | Not stated | Not stated |
| Throttle | Yes | Yes |
| Gears | 8 | 8 |
| Top assisted speed | 28 mph | 28 mph |
| Battery & range | ||
| Battery | 733 WhBetter | 672 Wh |
| Removable | Yes | Yes |
| Second battery option | Not stated | Not stated |
| Claimed range | Up to 75 mi | Up to 60 mi |
| Size & fit | ||
| Rider height | 5'3"–6'4" | 5'4"–6'4" |
| Max rider | 300 lb | 330 lbBetter |
| Max payload | Not stated | 330 lb |
| Frame | step-over | Not stated |
| Wheels / tires | 27.5" × 2.2" | 27.5" × 2.1" |
| Weight & storage | ||
| Weight | 68.5 lb | 66 lbBetter |
| Folded size | Doesn't fold | Doesn't fold |
| Safety & certification | ||
| UL 2849 | UL 2849 certified | UL 2849 certified |
| Brakes | Tektro HD-E3520 2-piston hydraulic disc, 180 mm rotors | Star Union 602 hydraulic disc, 180 mm rotors |
| Warranty, returns & service | ||
| Frame warranty | 2 yrBetter | 1 yr |
| Battery warranty | 2 yrBetter | 1 yr |
| Return window | 14 days | 14 days |
| Restocking fee | None for new, unused bikes (1 mile or less on the odometer); 50% for used bikes (under 20 miles) | Up to $300, at Lectric's discretion |
| Service | Not stated | Not stated |
| Check price at Aventon (opens in a new tab)Full profileAbout Aventon | Check price at Lectric (opens in a new tab)Full profileAbout Lectric eBikes |
"Better" marks the objectively better number (more Wh, lower weight, longer warranty). Subjective rows are never marked.
The short version
People searching "Aventon vs Lectric" usually haven't picked a model yet, and both makers sell a dozen. We chose the pairing that matches the most common shopper: a rear-hub commuter with a throttle, a 750 W motor and a removable battery. That's the Aventon Level 4 REC against the Lectric XPress2. Both list 28 mph assist, 8 gears, hydraulic disc brakes and UL 2849 certification.
The XPress2 is $600 cheaper at the maker's price and lists 5 Nm more torque. The Level 4 REC has the bigger battery, a warranty at least twice as long and no restocking fee when you return a new, unused bike. This is a spec-based comparison; we haven't ridden either bike.
Why this pair
Aventon and Lectric both sell commuters, but they don't line up neatly. Lectric's best-known bikes are folders (the XP4, from $999) and fat-tire bikes, while Aventon's range leans toward commuters, cruisers and cargo. The one place the lineups overlap squarely is the 750 W commuter with a throttle, so that's what we compare. If you want a folder, Lectric is the only one of the two with folding bikes in our database, so there is nothing to compare it against here. See our folding bike roundup.
If the Level 4 REC's price is a stretch, the closer-priced Aventon is the Level 3 ($1,699, 500 W, 60 Nm, 733 Wh). Here's how it lines up against the same Lectric:
| Spec | Bike AAventon Level 3Maker price $1,699 | Bike BLectric eBikes XPress2Maker price $1,399 |
|---|---|---|
| Price & value | ||
| Maker price | $1,699 | $1,399Better |
| Wh per $100 | 43 | 48Better |
| Financing | Affirm, from about $106 a month (0% APR if you qualify) | 0% APR or as low as $85 a month with Affirm |
| Motor & hills | ||
| Class | Class 2 | Class 1/2/3 (switchable) |
| Motor type | Rear hub | Rear hub |
| Motor power | 500 W (864 W peak) | 750 W (1,310 W peak) |
| Torque | 60 Nm | 85 NmBetter |
| Sensor | Torque sensor | Not stated |
| Throttle | Yes | Yes |
| Gears | 8 | 8 |
| Top assisted speed | 28 mph | 28 mph |
| Battery & range | ||
| Battery | 733 WhBetter | 672 Wh |
| Removable | Yes | Yes |
| Second battery option | Not stated | Not stated |
| Claimed range | Up to 70 mi | Up to 60 mi |
| Size & fit | ||
| Rider height | 5'3"–6'4" | 5'4"–6'4" |
| Max rider | 300 lb | 330 lbBetter |
| Max payload | Not stated | 330 lb |
| Frame | step-over | Not stated |
| Wheels / tires | 27.5" × 2.2" | 27.5" × 2.1" |
| Weight & storage | ||
| Weight | 67 lb | 66 lbBetter |
| Folded size | Doesn't fold | Doesn't fold |
| Safety & certification | ||
| UL 2849 | UL 2849 certified | UL 2849 certified |
| Brakes | Magura AT-2 or Tektro HD-E3520 hydraulic disc (both listed), 180 mm rotors | Star Union 602 hydraulic disc, 180 mm rotors |
| Warranty, returns & service | ||
| Frame warranty | 2 yrBetter | 1 yr |
| Battery warranty | 2 yrBetter | 1 yr |
| Return window | 14 days | 14 days |
| Restocking fee | None for new, unused bikes (1 mile or less on the odometer); 50% for used bikes (under 20 miles) | Up to $300, at Lectric's discretion |
| Service | Not stated | Not stated |
| Check price at Aventon (opens in a new tab)Full profileAbout Aventon | Check price at Lectric (opens in a new tab)Full profileAbout Lectric eBikes |
"Better" marks the objectively better number (more Wh, lower weight, longer warranty). Subjective rows are never marked.
Price & value
Maker price checked Oct 23, 2026: Level 4 REC $1,999, XPress2 $1,399. Makers change prices often, so confirm on the maker's page before you buy. Financing is listed by both: Aventon shows Affirm from about $93 a month on the Level 4 REC (0% APR if you qualify); Lectric shows 0% APR or from $85 a month with Affirm on the XPress2.
What the extra $600 buys, on paper: 61 more watt-hours, a lifetime-frame option and the return terms below. What it doesn't buy: a higher top speed or more gears. The Level 4 REC lists a rack and fenders; the XPress2 lists a rack and an 80 mm suspension fork. On our commute score the Level 4 REC gets 87 and the XPress2 84, so the bikes are close; on our budget score the XPress2 wins 51 to 43 because of price.
Motor & hills
| Level 4 REC | XPress2 | |
|---|---|---|
| Motor | 750 W rear hub (1,188 W peak) | 750 W rear hub (1,310 W peak) |
| Torque | 80 Nm | 85 Nm |
| Gears | 8 | 8 |
| Top assisted speed | 28 mph | 28 mph |
The gap is small. Both are hub motors, so neither is the pick for long, steep climbs; for those, see best e-bikes for hills, which now includes mid-drive bikes from Aventon, Velotric and Ride1Up. Our hills score gives the XPress2 73 and the Level 4 REC 69.
Battery & range
The Level 4 REC lists a 733 Wh removable battery and a claimed range of up to 75 miles. The XPress2 lists 672 Wh, also removable, and up to 60 miles. Those are the makers' best-case numbers, not independent measurements; rider weight, hills, assist level and cold all cut into them. Our range estimator gives a more cautious band.
Fit, weight & storage
The Level 4 REC weighs 68.5 lb with a step-over frame, lists riders 5'3" to 6'4" and a 300 lb maximum rider weight. The XPress2 weighs 66 lb, lists riders 5'4" to 6'4" and a 330 lb maximum. Lectric also sells a step-thru version of the XPress2 per its product page; our record covers the standard frame. Both are heavy to carry upstairs, so plan on ground-level storage.
Warranty, returns & service
| Aventon | Lectric | |
|---|---|---|
| Warranty | Frame 2 years (lifetime for the original buyer if registered within 90 days), motor and controller 2 years, battery 2 years or 300 cycles | One year on frame, motor, controller and battery; wear parts and accessories excluded |
| Return window | 14 days from delivery | 14 days in your possession |
| Restocking | None for new, unused bikes (1 mile or less); 50% for used | Up to $300, at Lectric's discretion |
| Return shipping | Buyer pays $125 per bike | Buyer pays |
Aventon's warranty is for new bikes bought in the US or Canada on or after Jan 1, 2026, and its online return policy doesn't cover bikes bought from a bike shop. Lectric needs written approval before you ship a return, and the bike must be unused and in its original packaging.
Service. Both sell online direct. Aventon has a help desk, a contact form, a phone line (Mon to Fri, 9am to 4pm PST) and a Find a Bike Shop locator. Lectric points owners to certified partner bike shops, but you contact Lectric support first so it can coordinate parts and instructions; its page doesn't give a shop count or mention mobile service. For either brand, check that a shop near you will take the bike before you order.
Safety. Both bikes are UL 2849 certified in our records. Use only the maker's charger and follow the manual; see the CPSC Micromobility Information Center for recalls and guidance.
Which should you buy?
Buy the Lectric XPress2 if price is the deciding factor, you want the strongest torque of the two, or you like a suspension fork. Accept that you get a one-year warranty and a return policy that can cost up to $300.
Buy the Aventon Level 4 REC if you commute far enough that the extra 61 Wh matters, you want a lifetime-frame warranty option, or you want the safest return terms in case the fit isn't right. Its fit range also starts an inch lower, at 5'3".
If you carry kids or gear, neither commuter is the right tool. Compare the cargo bikes instead:
| Spec | Bike AAventon Abound LRMaker price $1,999 | Bike BLectric eBikes XPedition2Maker price $1,399 |
|---|---|---|
| Price & value | ||
| Maker price | $1,999 | $1,399Better |
| Wh per $100 | 37 | 45Better |
| Financing | Affirm, from about $97 a month (0% APR if you qualify) | 0% APR or as low as $85 a month with Affirm |
| Motor & hills | ||
| Class | Class 2 | Class 1/2/3 (switchable) |
| Motor type | Rear hub | Rear hub |
| Motor power | 750 W (1,188 W peak) | 750 W (1,310 W peak) |
| Torque | 80 Nm | 85 NmBetter |
| Sensor | Torque sensor | Torque sensor |
| Throttle | Yes | Yes |
| Gears | 8 | 8 |
| Top assisted speed | 20 mph | 28 mph |
| Battery & range | ||
| Battery | 733 WhBetter | 624 Wh |
| Removable | Yes | Yes |
| Second battery option | Not stated | Yes |
| Claimed range | Up to 60 mi | Up to 60 mi |
| Size & fit | ||
| Rider height | 4'11"–6'3" | 4'11"–6'5" |
| Max rider | 440 lbBetter | 330 lb |
| Max payload | 440 lb | 450 lbBetter |
| Frame | cargo-longtail | cargo-longtail |
| Wheels / tires | 20" × 3" | 20" × 2.5" |
| Weight & storage | ||
| Weight | 88 lb | 74 lbBetter |
| Folded size | Doesn't fold | Doesn't fold |
| Safety & certification | ||
| UL 2849 | UL 2849 certified | UL 2849 certified |
| Brakes | Tektro HD-E3520 hydraulic disc, 180 mm front and 203 mm rear rotors | Hydraulic disc, 180 mm rotors |
| Warranty, returns & service | ||
| Frame warranty | 2 yrBetter | 1 yr |
| Battery warranty | 2 yrBetter | 1 yr |
| Return window | 14 days | 14 days |
| Restocking fee | None for new, unused bikes (1 mile or less on the odometer); 50% for used bikes (under 20 miles) | Up to $300, at Lectric's discretion |
| Service | Not stated | Not stated |
| Check price at Aventon (opens in a new tab)Full profileAbout Aventon | Check price at Lectric (opens in a new tab)Full profileAbout Lectric eBikes |
"Better" marks the objectively better number (more Wh, lower weight, longer warranty). Subjective rows are never marked.
If you're on a tight budget, the under $1,500 roundup has cheaper options from both makers. E-bike laws vary by state; our state checker is general information, not legal advice.
Keep reading
Buying guideBest Commuter Electric Bikes: Battery, Brakes, WeightBest commuter e-bikes for daily rides, ranked on published battery, weight, brakes and UL 2849 status. Maker prices checked Oct 24, 2026.
Buying guideBest Electric Bikes Under $1,500: Spec-Based PicksBest e-bikes under $1,500 from the makers' published specs: battery, torque, warranty and return terms compared. Prices checked Oct 24, 2026.
ComparisonVelotric vs Aventon: Discover 2 vs Level 4 RECVelotric vs Aventon compared on published specs, warranty, return terms and service, using the Discover 2 and Level 4 REC. Prices checked Oct 23, 2026.
GuideUL 2849: what e-bike battery certification meansWhat UL 2849 e-bike certification covers, what it doesn't, how to check whether a bike has it, and where the official battery safety advice is.
