Velotric vs Aventon: Discover 2 vs Level 4 REC
Last checked Oct 23, 2026 · By EbikePost editors

Short answer
Choose the Velotric Discover 2 for the lower maker price ($1,499) and longer frame warranty; choose the Aventon Level 4 REC for the larger removable battery and cleaner return terms.
We compare makers' published specs, warranties and return policies; we don't ride the bikes. How we score →
Disclosure: EbikePost earns a commission from some brands when you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. This never changes our scores.
| Spec | Bike AVelotric Discover 2Maker price $1,499 | Bike BAventon Level 4 RECMaker price $1,999 |
|---|---|---|
| Price & value | ||
| Maker price | $1,499Better | $1,999 |
| Wh per $100 | 47Better | 37 |
| Financing | Not stated | Affirm, from about $93 a month (0% APR if you qualify) |
| Motor & hills | ||
| Class | Class 1/2/3 (switchable) | Class 2 |
| Motor type | rear-hub | rear-hub |
| Motor power | 750 W | 750 W (1,188 W peak) |
| Torque | 75 Nm | 80 NmBetter |
| Sensor | Not stated | Not stated |
| Throttle | Yes | Yes |
| Gears | 8 | 8 |
| Top assisted speed | 28 mph | 28 mph |
| Battery & range | ||
| Battery | 705.6 Wh | 733 WhBetter |
| Removable | Not stated | Yes |
| Second battery option | Not stated | Not stated |
| Claimed range | Up to 75 mi | Up to 75 mi |
| Size & fit | ||
| Rider height | 4'11"–6'4" | 5'3"–6'4" |
| Max rider | 440 lbBetter | 300 lb |
| Max payload | Not stated | Not stated |
| Frame | Not stated | step-over |
| Wheels / tires | 27.5" × 2.4" | 27.5" × 2.2" |
| Weight & storage | ||
| Weight | 63 lbBetter | 68.5 lb |
| Folded size | Doesn't fold | Doesn't fold |
| Safety & certification | ||
| UL 2849 | UL 2849 certified | UL 2849 certified |
| Brakes | Tektro hydraulic disc, 180 mm rotors | Tektro HD-E3520 2-piston hydraulic disc, 180 mm rotors |
| Warranty, returns & service | ||
| Frame warranty | 5 yrBetter | 2 yr |
| Battery warranty | 2 yr | 2 yr |
| Return window | 14 days | 14 days |
| Restocking fee | $200 per bike | None for new, unused bikes (1 mile or less on the odometer); 50% for used bikes (under 20 miles) |
| Service | Not stated | Not stated |
| Check price at Velotric (opens in a new tab)Full profileAbout Velotric | Check price at Aventon (opens in a new tab)Full profileAbout Aventon |
"Better" marks the objectively better number (more Wh, lower weight, longer warranty). Subjective rows are never marked.
The short version
Velotric vs Aventon comes down to two commuter bikes with similar headline numbers. Both list a 750 W rear hub motor, a throttle, hydraulic disc brakes, 8 gears, a claimed range of up to 75 miles and UL 2849 certification. The Velotric Discover 2 is $500 cheaper at the maker's price and has a 5-year frame warranty. The Aventon Level 4 REC has slightly more torque and battery, a lifetime frame warranty option and no restocking fee on new, unused returns. This is a spec-based comparison; we have not ridden either bike.
Price & value
Maker price on Oct 23, 2026: Discover 2 $1,499, Level 4 REC $1,999. Both are shown at the makers' listed prices, which can change, so confirm on the maker's page. Aventon lists Affirm financing from about $93 a month (0% APR if you qualify). The Level 4 REC's listed extras are a rack and fenders; the Discover 2 lists a rack and full fenders too, so neither price difference is explained by accessories. Our budget Spec score favours the Discover 2 (63 against 43) because of price and the battery-per-dollar ratio.
Motor & hills
| Discover 2 | Level 4 REC | |
|---|---|---|
| Motor | 750 W rear hub | 750 W rear hub (1,188 W peak) |
| Torque | 75 Nm | 80 Nm |
| Gears | 8 | 8 |
| Top speed | Default 20 mph, adjustable 12 to 28 | 28 mph |
The Level 4 REC's torque is slightly higher, which helps on climbs. Neither is a mid-drive bike. For steep terrain, see our best e-bikes for hills. The Discover 2's speed is set to 20 mph by default per the maker, so check your state's class rules in our law checker.
Battery & range
The Discover 2 lists a 705.6 Wh battery; the Level 4 REC lists 733 Wh and a removable battery. Both claim up to 75 miles. These are the makers' maximums, not independent measures, and real distance depends on rider weight, assist level, hills and temperature. Use our range estimator for a more cautious band. Our records do not state whether the Discover 2's battery is removable, so check Velotric's page if that matters.
Fit, weight & storage
The Discover 2 weighs 63 lb and lists riders 4'11" to 6'4" in Regular and Large sizes, with a max load of 440 lb. The Level 4 REC weighs 68.5 lb, lists riders 5'3" to 6'4" and a maximum rider weight of 300 lb, and has a step-over frame. The Discover 2 has the higher load limit and the lower minimum rider height; note that its 440 lb figure is the maker's Max Bike Load, while the Level 4 REC's 300 lb is a maximum rider weight, so the two are not directly comparable. Both are heavy to carry upstairs.
Warranty, returns & service
Warranty. Velotric: a 2-year limited warranty with frame 5 years, battery 2 years, electrical parts 2 years and other components 1 year, from purchase. Aventon: frame 2 years (lifetime for the original buyer if registered within 90 days), motor and controller 2 years, battery 2 years or 300 charge cycles, for new bikes bought in the US or Canada on or after 1 Jan 2026.
Returns. Velotric: request within 14 days of delivery; the bike must be unused and complete; $200 restocking fee per bike; a prepaid return label after authorization. Aventon: 14 days from delivery; no restocking fee for new, unused bikes (1 mile or less on the odometer), 50% for used bikes; buyer pays $125 return shipping per bike. Bikes bought from bike shops are not covered by Aventon's online return policy.
Service. Both sell online direct. Velotric promotes nearby support and a dealer locator, but does not state the number of dealers or mobile repair. Aventon has a help desk, a contact form and a phone line (Mon to Fri, 9am to 4pm PST), plus a Find a Bike Shop locator. Before buying either, check that a shop near you will service it.
Safety. Both are listed as UL 2849 certified in our records. Use only the maker's charger and follow the manual; see the CPSC Micromobility Information Center.
Which should you buy?
Choose the Velotric Discover 2 if price and a long frame warranty matter most, if you want a wider fit range (from 4'11"), or if you may need the higher load limit.
Choose the Aventon Level 4 REC if you want the larger removable battery, a bit more torque, the full 28 mph top speed from the start (where your state allows it) and a return policy with no restocking fee for unused bikes.
If you want a step-through frame, look at the Aventon Pace 5 REC in our commuter roundup. For a rougher-path bike from Velotric, see the Nomad 2 in best e-bikes for hills. E-bike laws vary; our state checker is general information, not legal advice.
Keep reading
Buying guideBest Commuter Electric Bikes: Battery, Brakes, WeightBest commuter e-bikes for daily rides, ranked on published battery, weight, brakes and UL 2849 status. Maker prices checked Oct 23, 2026.
Buying guideBest Electric Bikes Under $1,500: Spec-Based PicksBest e-bikes under $1,500 from the makers' published specs: battery, torque, warranty and return terms compared. Prices checked Oct 23, 2026.
GuideTorque sensor vs cadence sensor e-bikes: which to chooseTorque sensor or cadence sensor? How each detects your pedaling, what that changes on hills and in traffic, and how to find it on a maker's spec page.
GuideUL 2849: what e-bike battery certification meansWhat UL 2849 e-bike certification covers, what it doesn't, how to check whether a bike has it, and where the official battery safety advice is.
