Lectric XP4 vs RadExpand 5 Plus: Folding E-Bikes
Last checked Oct 23, 2026 · By EbikePost editors

Short answer
The Lectric XP4 is the lower-priced, lighter folder with a higher weight limit; the RadExpand 5 Plus has a bigger battery, fatter tires and a longer return window, with ownership caveats.
We compare makers' published specs, warranties and return policies; we don't ride the bikes. How we score →
Disclosure: EbikePost earns a commission from some brands when you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. This never changes our scores.
| Spec | Bike ALectric eBikes XP4Maker price $999 | Bike BRad Power Bikes RadExpand 5 PlusMaker price $1,899 |
|---|---|---|
| Price & value | ||
| Maker price | $999Better | $1,899 |
| Wh per $100 | 50Better | 38 |
| Financing | 0% APR or as low as $63 a month with Affirm | Not stated |
| Motor & hills | ||
| Class | Class 1/2/3 (switchable) | Class 2 |
| Motor type | rear-hub | rear-hub |
| Motor power | 500 W (1,092 W peak) | 750 W |
| Torque | 55 Nm | 64 NmBetter |
| Sensor | torque | torque |
| Throttle | Yes | Yes |
| Gears | 8Better | 7 |
| Top assisted speed | 28 mph | Not stated |
| Battery & range | ||
| Battery | 500 Wh | 720 WhBetter |
| Removable | Yes | Yes |
| Second battery option | Not stated | Not stated |
| Claimed range | Up to 50 mi | Up to 60 mi |
| Size & fit | ||
| Rider height | 4'10"–6'3" | 4'10"–5'10" |
| Max rider | 330 lbBetter | 225 lb |
| Max payload | 330 lbBetter | 315 lb |
| Frame | folding | folding |
| Wheels / tires | 20" × 3" | 20" × 4" |
| Weight & storage | ||
| Weight | 69 lbBetter | 72.5 lb |
| Folded size | 37 x 17 x 29 in | 29 H x 25 W x 41 L in |
| Safety & certification | ||
| UL 2849 | UL 2849 certified | UL 2849 certified |
| Brakes | 602 hydraulic disc, 180 mm rotors | Hydraulic disc (Gemma GA-1000B), 180 mm rotors |
| Warranty, returns & service | ||
| Frame warranty | 1 yr | 2 yrBetter |
| Battery warranty | 1 yr | 2 yrBetter |
| Return window | 14 days | 30 daysBetter |
| Restocking fee | Up to $300, at Lectric's discretion | 30% plus at-cost return shipping, both deducted from the refund |
| Service | Not stated | Not stated |
| Check price at Lectric (opens in a new tab)Full profileAbout Lectric eBikes | Check price at Rad Power (opens in a new tab)Full profileAbout Rad Power Bikes |
"Better" marks the objectively better number (more Wh, lower weight, longer warranty). Subjective rows are never marked.
The short version
This page replaces our earlier Lectric XP 3.0 vs Aventon Sinch.2 comparison: both of those models have been replaced or discontinued (Aventon's site lists the Sinch 2.5 as end-of-life and has no current folding model). The current matchup we can verify is the Lectric XP4 against the Rad RadExpand 5 Plus, two folding e-bikes on 20-inch wheels with wide tires. The XP4 costs about half as much at the maker's price, weighs less and lists a higher weight limit. The RadExpand 5 Plus lists a bigger battery, 4 in tires, a step-thru frame and a 30-day return window. Both are spec-based comparisons; we have not ridden either bike.
Price & value
Maker price on Oct 23, 2026: XP4 $999, RadExpand 5 Plus $1,899. Check the maker's page for the current price. Lectric lists financing at 0% APR or as low as $63 a month with Affirm. Lectric also lists a 750 W, larger-battery option for $300 more on the XP4. Our folding Spec score puts the XP4 ahead (68 against 57), mostly on weight and folded size.
Motor & hills
| XP4 | RadExpand 5 Plus | |
|---|---|---|
| Motor | 500 W rear hub (1,092 W peak) | 750 W rear hub |
| Torque | 55 Nm | 64 Nm |
| Sensor | Torque | Torque |
| Gears | 8 | 7 |
| Brakes | Hydraulic disc, 180 mm | Hydraulic disc (Gemma GA-1000B), 180 mm |
The RadExpand 5 Plus lists more torque, which matters on climbs. Both are hub motors with a throttle. For steep terrain see best e-bikes for hills.
Battery & range
The XP4 lists a 500 Wh removable battery and claims up to 50 miles. The RadExpand 5 Plus lists 720 Wh, removable, and claims up to 60 miles. These are the makers' claimed maximums. Real range depends on rider weight, hills, assist level and temperature; try our range estimator. The XP4's top assisted speed is listed at 28 mph; our records do not list one for the RadExpand 5 Plus.
Fit, weight & storage
The XP4 weighs 69 lb with the battery (62 lb without it). It folds to 37 x 17 x 29 in, about 10.6 cubic feet by our arithmetic. It lists riders 4'10" to 6'3" and a 330 lb payload.
The RadExpand 5 Plus weighs 72.5 lb with the battery and folds to 29 in high, 25 in wide and 41 in long, about 17.2 cubic feet by the same arithmetic. It lists riders 4'10" to 5'10", a 315 lb payload and a maximum rider weight of 225 lb. Check that limit against your weight plus anything you carry. The step-thru frame can be easier to get on and off.
Tires: 20 x 3 in on the XP4, 20 x 4 in on the RadExpand 5 Plus.
Warranty, returns & service
Warranty. Lectric: one year on frame, motor, controller and battery for the first owner; wear parts such as tires, chain and brake pads are excluded. Rad (products bought after 15 May 2026): frame and listed components 2 years; battery 2 years or 300 recharge cycles; pedals, drivetrain and saddle 1 year.
Returns. Lectric: ineligible after 14 days in your possession; unused, original packaging, written approval; restocking fee up to $300 at its discretion; buyer pays shipping. Rad: 30 days from receipt for new bikes in original packaging (under 20 miles if used); return shipping at cost plus a 30% restocking fee are deducted from the refund.
Service. Lectric is sold direct, with certified partner bike shops handling service; owners contact Lectric support first. Rad lists Rad Mobile Service and velofix mobile mechanics (zip code dependent), retail stores and shop partners.
Rad ownership. Rad Power Bikes, Inc. filed for Chapter 11 bankruptcy on 15 Dec 2025 and sold substantially all assets. The brand has been under new ownership (Rad Life Mobility, part of Life EV) since 27 Feb 2026. Rad's warranty page says the current owner has no obligation to provide warranty or other service for products bought before 15 Dec 2025, and that claims on those bikes go through the bankruptcy process. The warranty above applies to products bought after 15 May 2026. Source: Rad's warranty page, checked Oct 23, 2026.
Safety. Both are listed as UL 2849 certified in our records. Use only the maker's charger and follow the manual; see the CPSC Micromobility Information Center.
Which should you buy?
Choose the Lectric XP4 if price, weight and folded size matter most, if you are taller than 5'10", or if you need the higher weight limit.
Choose the RadExpand 5 Plus if you want the larger battery, more torque, 4 in tires, a step-thru frame and a 30-day return window, and you are comfortable with the ownership situation above and a 225 lb rider limit.
Check the law checker for your state's rules before buying; it is general information, not legal advice. See more options in best folding e-bikes.
Sources (9)
- Lectric XP4 product page
- Lectric warranty
- Lectric refund policy
- Lectric repair and service network
- Rad RadExpand 5 Plus product page
- Rad Power Bikes warranty (includes ownership note)
- Rad Power Bikes terms of purchase (returns)
- Rad Power Bikes mobile service
- CPSC Micromobility Information Center
Last checked Oct 23, 2026
Keep reading
ComparisonRad Power Bikes Alternatives: Cargo, Folding, Fat-TireRad Power Bikes alternatives matched by use case: cargo, folding and off-road, with published specs, warranty and service. Prices checked Oct 23, 2026.
GuideWhat size e-bike do I need? Ebike size guide by heightEbike size guide: how to use the maker's rider height range, frame style, standover and saddle height to pick an e-bike that fits before you buy.
GuideUL 2849: what e-bike battery certification meansWhat UL 2849 e-bike certification covers, what it doesn't, how to check whether a bike has it, and where the official battery safety advice is.
