Rad Power Bikes Alternatives: Cargo, Folding, Fat-Tire
Last checked Oct 23, 2026 · By EbikePost editors

Short answer
Match the Rad model to the job, then compare terms: the Aventon Abound SR for cargo, the Lectric XP4 for folding and the Velotric Nomad 2 for rough paths.
We compare makers' published specs, warranties and return policies; we don't ride the bikes. How we score →
Disclosure: EbikePost earns a commission from some brands when you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. This never changes our scores.
| Spec | Bike ARad Power Bikes RadWagon 5Maker price $2,399 | Bike BAventon Abound SRMaker price $1,899 |
|---|---|---|
| Price & value | ||
| Maker price | $2,399 | $1,899Better |
| Wh per $100 | 30 | 39Better |
| Financing | Not stated | Starting at $93 a month, 0% APR with Affirm if you qualify |
| Motor & hills | ||
| Class | Class 3 | Class 2 |
| Motor type | rear-hub | rear-hub |
| Motor power | 750 W | 750 W (1,188 W peak) |
| Torque | 90 NmBetter | 80 Nm |
| Sensor | Not stated | torque |
| Throttle | Yes | Yes |
| Gears | 7 | 8Better |
| Top assisted speed | Not stated | 20 mph |
| Battery & range | ||
| Battery | 720 Wh | 733 WhBetter |
| Removable | Yes | Not stated |
| Second battery option | Not stated | Not stated |
| Claimed range | Up to 60 mi | Up to 60 mi |
| Size & fit | ||
| Rider height | 4'11"–6'3" | 4'11"–6'3" |
| Max rider | 265 lb | 440 lbBetter |
| Max payload | 375 lb | Not stated |
| Frame | cargo-longtail | step-through |
| Wheels / tires | 20" × 3.3" | 20" × 3" |
| Weight & storage | ||
| Weight | 86 lb | 80 lbBetter |
| Folded size | Doesn't fold | Doesn't fold |
| Safety & certification | ||
| UL 2849 | UL 2849 certified | UL 2849 certified |
| Brakes | Tektro HD-E395 hydraulic disc, 180 mm rotors | Tektro HD-E3520 hydraulic disc, 180 mm front and 203 mm rear rotors |
| Warranty, returns & service | ||
| Frame warranty | 2 yr | 2 yr |
| Battery warranty | 2 yr | 2 yr |
| Return window | 30 daysBetter | 14 days |
| Restocking fee | 30% plus at-cost return shipping, both deducted from the refund | None for new, unused bikes (1 mile or less on the odometer); 50% for used bikes (under 20 miles) |
| Service | Not stated | Not stated |
| Check price at Rad Power (opens in a new tab)Full profileAbout Rad Power Bikes | Check price at Aventon (opens in a new tab)Full profileAbout Aventon |
"Better" marks the objectively better number (more Wh, lower weight, longer warranty). Subjective rows are never marked.
The short version
If you are shopping for Rad Power Bikes alternatives, start with the job you want the bike to do. For a family or cargo bike, the Aventon Abound SR is the closest verified match to the RadWagon 5. For a folding bike, the Lectric XP4 sits against the RadExpand 5 Plus. For rough paths, the Velotric Nomad 2 is the counterpart to the Radster Trail. This page compares published specs and terms only; we have not ridden any of these bikes. Rad is still selling bikes, and this page does not say Rad's bikes are poor, only that its ownership history is worth reading before you buy.
What changed at Rad
Rad Power Bikes, Inc. filed for Chapter 11 bankruptcy on 15 Dec 2025 and sold substantially all assets. The Rad Power Bikes brand has been under new ownership (Rad Life Mobility, part of Life EV) since 27 Feb 2026. Rad's warranty page says the current owner has no obligation to provide warranty or other service for products bought before 15 Dec 2025, and that claims on those bikes go through the bankruptcy process. Its support page says it cannot support warranty requests for products bought before that date. The warranty terms below apply to products bought after 15 May 2026. Source: Rad's warranty page, checked Oct 23, 2026.
Rad's current terms for new purchases: frame and listed components 2 years; battery 2 years or 300 recharge cycles; pedals, drivetrain and saddle 1 year. Returns: 30 days from receipt for new bikes in original packaging, with return shipping at cost and a 30% restocking fee deducted from the refund. Service: Rad Mobile Service and velofix mobile mechanics (zip code dependent), retail stores and local shop partners. If you already own a Rad bike, see our owners guide under related reading.
Price & value
Maker prices on Oct 23, 2026: RadWagon 5 $2,399, RadExpand 5 Plus $1,899, Radster Trail $1,999.99; Aventon Abound SR $1,899, Lectric XP4 $999, Velotric Nomad 2 $1,999. Check each maker's page for the current price.
Cargo: RadWagon 5 vs Aventon Abound SR
The RadWagon 5 is a longtail (Class 3) with a 750 W motor, 90 Nm of torque, a 720 Wh battery, a 375 lb payload, a 265 lb maximum rider weight and a 120 lb integrated rear rack. It weighs 86 lb with the battery. The Abound SR is a compact step-through with 80 Nm of torque, a 733 Wh battery and 20 x 3 in wheels, and carries one passenger. It lists a 440 lb total weight limit and a 143 lb rack limit, and weighs 80 lb. Its top speed is 20 mph. The Abound SR is $500 cheaper at the maker's price, with a 2-year warranty on frame, motor and battery and a 14-day return window with no restocking fee for new unused bikes (buyer pays $125 shipping). The RadWagon 5 has a longer 30-day window but a 30% fee. Our cargo score puts the Abound SR at 85 and the RadWagon 5 at 79. See best cargo e-bikes for families.
Folding: RadExpand 5 Plus vs Lectric XP4
| Spec | Bike ARad Power Bikes RadExpand 5 PlusMaker price $1,899 | Bike BLectric eBikes XP4Maker price $999 |
|---|---|---|
| Price & value | ||
| Maker price | $1,899 | $999Better |
| Wh per $100 | 38 | 50Better |
| Financing | Not stated | 0% APR or as low as $63 a month with Affirm |
| Motor & hills | ||
| Class | Class 2 | Class 1/2/3 (switchable) |
| Motor type | rear-hub | rear-hub |
| Motor power | 750 W | 500 W (1,092 W peak) |
| Torque | 64 NmBetter | 55 Nm |
| Sensor | torque | torque |
| Throttle | Yes | Yes |
| Gears | 7 | 8Better |
| Top assisted speed | Not stated | 28 mph |
| Battery & range | ||
| Battery | 720 WhBetter | 500 Wh |
| Removable | Yes | Yes |
| Second battery option | Not stated | Not stated |
| Claimed range | Up to 60 mi | Up to 50 mi |
| Size & fit | ||
| Rider height | 4'10"–5'10" | 4'10"–6'3" |
| Max rider | 225 lb | 330 lbBetter |
| Max payload | 315 lb | 330 lbBetter |
| Frame | folding | folding |
| Wheels / tires | 20" × 4" | 20" × 3" |
| Weight & storage | ||
| Weight | 72.5 lb | 69 lbBetter |
| Folded size | 29 H x 25 W x 41 L in | 37 x 17 x 29 in |
| Safety & certification | ||
| UL 2849 | UL 2849 certified | UL 2849 certified |
| Brakes | Hydraulic disc (Gemma GA-1000B), 180 mm rotors | 602 hydraulic disc, 180 mm rotors |
| Warranty, returns & service | ||
| Frame warranty | 2 yrBetter | 1 yr |
| Battery warranty | 2 yrBetter | 1 yr |
| Return window | 30 daysBetter | 14 days |
| Restocking fee | 30% plus at-cost return shipping, both deducted from the refund | Up to $300, at Lectric's discretion |
| Service | Not stated | Not stated |
| Check price at Rad Power (opens in a new tab)Full profileAbout Rad Power Bikes | Check price at Lectric (opens in a new tab)Full profileAbout Lectric eBikes |
"Better" marks the objectively better number (more Wh, lower weight, longer warranty). Subjective rows are never marked.
The XP4 is lighter (69 lb against 72.5 lb), folds smaller and costs less, with a one-year warranty. The RadExpand 5 Plus has a larger battery (720 Wh against 500 Wh), 4 in tires and a step-thru frame, with a maximum rider weight of 225 lb. Read our full XP4 vs RadExpand 5 Plus comparison and best folding e-bikes.
Rough paths: Radster Trail vs Velotric Nomad 2
| Spec | Bike ARad Power Bikes Radster TrailMaker price $1,999.99 | Bike BVelotric Nomad 2Maker price $1,999 |
|---|---|---|
| Price & value | ||
| Maker price | $1,999.99 | $1,999Better |
| Wh per $100 | 36Better | 35 |
| Financing | Not stated | Not stated |
| Motor & hills | ||
| Class | Class 3 | Class 1/2/3 (switchable) |
| Motor type | rear-hub | rear-hub |
| Motor power | 750 W | 750 W (1,300 W peak) |
| Torque | 100 NmBetter | 90 Nm |
| Sensor | torque | Not stated |
| Throttle | Yes | Yes |
| Gears | 8 | 8 |
| Top assisted speed | Not stated | 28 mph |
| Battery & range | ||
| Battery | 720 WhBetter | 705.6 Wh |
| Removable | Yes | Yes |
| Second battery option | Not stated | Not stated |
| Claimed range | Up to 65 mi | Up to 65 mi |
| Size & fit | ||
| Rider height | 4'11"–5'8" | 4'11"–6'5" |
| Max rider | 290 lb | 505 lbBetter |
| Max payload | 370 lb | Not stated |
| Frame | Not stated | Not stated |
| Wheels / tires | 27.5" × 3" | 26" × 4" |
| Weight & storage | ||
| Weight | 77.5 lb | 75 lbBetter |
| Folded size | Doesn't fold | Doesn't fold |
| Safety & certification | ||
| UL 2849 | UL 2849 certified | UL 2849 certified |
| Brakes | Hydraulic disc, 180 mm rotors | Tektro hydraulic disc, 203 mm front and 180 mm rear rotors |
| Warranty, returns & service | ||
| Frame warranty | 2 yr | 5 yrBetter |
| Battery warranty | 2 yr | 2 yr |
| Return window | 30 daysBetter | 14 days |
| Restocking fee | 30% plus at-cost return shipping, both deducted from the refund | $200 per bike |
| Service | Not stated | Not stated |
| Check price at Rad Power (opens in a new tab)Full profileAbout Rad Power Bikes | Check price at Velotric (opens in a new tab)Full profileAbout Velotric |
"Better" marks the objectively better number (more Wh, lower weight, longer warranty). Subjective rows are never marked.
The Radster Trail lists 100 Nm of torque, 27.5 x 3.0 in tires, an 80 mm fork and Class 3 capability, with a 290 lb maximum rider weight and riders 4'11" to 5'8". The Nomad 2 lists 90 Nm, 26 x 4 in tires, a 100 mm fork and a 505 lb Max Bike Load (the maker's figure), with riders 4'11" to 6'5". Velotric lists a 5-year frame warranty and 2 years on the battery and electrical parts; its return policy is 14 days with a $200 restocking fee and a prepaid label.
Service and safety
Aventon and Velotric sell online direct; Lectric sells direct with certified partner shops. Whichever you choose, check that a shop near you will work on the brand. All bikes here are listed as UL 2849 certified in our records. Use only the maker's charger and follow the manual; see the CPSC Micromobility Information Center. E-bike laws vary: our state law checker is general information, not legal advice.
Which should you buy?
Choose by job, then by terms. If you want the closest match to a Rad bike's features, stay with Rad but read the ownership note first. If you want longer warranty or cleaner returns, the Aventon Abound SR (cargo), Lectric XP4 (price and weight) and Velotric Nomad 2 (frame warranty, weight limit) are the verified alternatives on this site.
Sources (16)
- Rad Power Bikes warranty (includes ownership note)
- Rad Power Bikes terms of purchase (returns)
- Rad Power Bikes mobile service
- Rad RadWagon 5 product page
- Rad RadExpand 5 Plus product page
- Rad Radster Trail product page
- Aventon Abound SR product page
- Aventon warranty
- Aventon return policy
- Lectric XP4 product page
- Lectric warranty
- Lectric refund policy
- Velotric Nomad 2 product page
- Velotric warranty
- Velotric refund policy
- CPSC Micromobility Information Center
Last checked Oct 23, 2026
Keep reading
Buying guideBest Cargo E-Bikes for Families: Payload and BrakesBest cargo e-bikes for families from published specs: payload, passenger capability, torque and brakes. Maker prices checked Oct 23, 2026.
Buying guideBest Electric Bikes for Hills: Torque and GearingBest e-bikes for hills ranked by published torque, motor, gears and brakes from makers' specs. Maker prices checked Oct 23, 2026.
GuideWhat Rad Power Bikes owners can do now: warranty and serviceRad Power Bikes warranty after Chapter 11: what Rad's own pages say, where to get service and parts, independent shops, and choosing a replacement bike.
GuideUL 2849: what e-bike battery certification meansWhat UL 2849 e-bike certification covers, what it doesn't, how to check whether a bike has it, and where the official battery safety advice is.
