Velotric vs Lectric vs Aventon: Fat-Tire Picks
Last checked Oct 24, 2026 · By EbikePost editors

Short answer
Pick Velotric for the longest frame warranty and the highest weight limit, Lectric for the lower maker price, and Aventon for a bigger battery with the cleanest returns, but check its UL 2849 wording first.
We compare makers' published specs, warranties and return policies; we don't ride the bikes. How we score →
Disclosure: EbikePost earns a commission from some brands when you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. This never changes our scores.
| Spec | Bike AVelotric Nomad 2Maker price $1,999 | Bike BLectric eBikes XPeak2Maker price $1,499 | Bike CAventon Aventure 3Maker price $1,999 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Price & value | |||
| Maker price | $1,999 | $1,499Better | $1,999 |
| Wh per $100 | 35 | 48Better | 37 |
| Financing | Not stated | 0% APR or as low as $91 a month with Affirm | Affirm, from about $97 a month (0% APR if you qualify) |
| Motor & hills | |||
| Class | Class 1/2/3 (switchable) | Class 1/2/3 (switchable) | Class 2 |
| Motor type | Hub motor | Rear hub | Rear hub |
| Motor power | 750 W (1,300 W peak) | 750 W (1,310 W peak) | 750 W (1,440 W peak) |
| Torque | 90 NmBetter | 85 Nm | 80 Nm |
| Sensor | Not stated | Torque sensor | Torque sensor |
| Throttle | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Gears | 8 | 8 | 8 |
| Top assisted speed | 28 mph | 28 mph | 28 mph |
| Battery & range | |||
| Battery | 705.6 Wh | 720 Wh | 733 WhBetter |
| Removable | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Second battery option | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Claimed range | Up to 65 mi | Up to 60 mi | Up to 65 mi |
| Size & fit | |||
| Rider height | 4'11"–6'5" | 5'4"–6'5" | 5'3"–6'4" |
| Max rider | 505 lbBetter | 330 lb | 400 lb |
| Max payload | Not stated | 330 lb | Not stated |
| Frame | Not stated | step-over | step-over |
| Wheels / tires | 26" × 4" | 26" × 4" | 26" × 4" |
| Weight & storage | |||
| Weight | 75 lb | 75 lb | 76 lb |
| Folded size | Doesn't fold | Doesn't fold | Doesn't fold |
| Safety & certification | |||
| UL 2849 | UL 2849 certified | UL 2849 certified | Not stated by maker |
| Brakes | Tektro hydraulic disc, 203 mm front and 180 mm rear rotors | Hydraulic disc, 203 mm front and 180 mm rear rotors | Tektro HD-E3520 hydraulic disc, 180 mm rotors |
| Warranty, returns & service | |||
| Frame warranty | 5 yrBetter | 1 yr | 2 yr |
| Battery warranty | 2 yr | 1 yr | 2 yr |
| Return window | 14 days | 14 days | 14 days |
| Restocking fee | $200 per bike | Up to $300, at Lectric's discretion | None for new, unused bikes (1 mile or less on the odometer); 50% for used bikes (under 20 miles) |
| Service | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Check price at Velotric (opens in a new tab)Full profileAbout Velotric | Check price at Lectric (opens in a new tab)Full profileAbout Lectric eBikes | Check price at Aventon (opens in a new tab)Full profileAbout Aventon |
"Better" marks the objectively better number (more Wh, lower weight, longer warranty). Subjective rows are never marked.
The short version
Comparing three makers only works if the bikes are in the same class, so we picked one fat-tire bike from each: the Velotric Nomad 2, the Lectric XPeak2 and the Aventon Aventure 3. All three list a 750 W rear hub motor, 26 x 4 in tires, 8 gears, hydraulic disc brakes, a throttle and a removable battery. If you want a plain commuter instead, start with Velotric vs Aventon or Aventon vs Lectric.
Short version: the XPeak2 is $500 cheaper at the maker's price, the Nomad 2 lists the highest weight limit and a frame warranty of 5 years, and the Aventure 3 has the largest battery. One catch on the Aventon: its page says "UL Safety Certified" and names UL 2271 for the battery only, so we can't confirm UL 2849 for the whole bike. This is a spec-based comparison; we haven't ridden any of them.
Price & value
Maker prices: Nomad 2 $1,999 (checked Oct 23, 2026), XPeak2 $1,499 and Aventure 3 $1,999 (both checked Oct 24, 2026). Prices change, so confirm on the maker's page. Financing is listed on the Lectric (0% APR or from $91 a month with Affirm) and the Aventon (Affirm from about $97 a month, 0% APR if you qualify); we haven't recorded financing for the Velotric.
On our budget score the XPeak2 leads (48 to 43 for the Aventure 3 and 42 for the Nomad 2), because of its price. On our heavy-rider score the order flips: Nomad 2 100, Aventure 3 98, XPeak2 68.
Motor, battery & hills
| Nomad 2 | XPeak2 | Aventure 3 | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Torque | 90 Nm | 85 Nm | 80 Nm |
| Peak power | 1,300 W | 1,310 W | 1,440 W |
| Battery | 705.6 Wh | 720 Wh | 733 Wh |
| Claimed range | up to 65 mi | up to 60 mi | up to 65 mi |
| Fork | 100 mm | 80 mm | 80 mm |
| Top assisted speed | 28 mph | 28 mph | 28 mph |
The numbers are close. The Nomad 2 has the most torque, which is the figure our hills score weighs most, so it scores 77 on hills against 73 (XPeak2) and 69 (Aventure 3). All three are hub motors, so for a long, steep route look at the mid-drive bikes in best e-bikes for hills. Ranges are the makers' best-case claims; our range estimator gives a cautious band. The XPeak2 lists Class 1, 2 and 3 modes, so check your state's rules in our law checker.
Fit, weight & limits
| Nomad 2 | XPeak2 | Aventure 3 | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Weight | 75 lb | 75 lb (64.5 lb without battery) | 76 lb |
| Weight limit | 505 lb max bike load | 330 lb | 400 lb |
| Rider height | 4'11" to 6'5" | 5'4" to 6'5" | 5'3" to 6'4" |
| Frame | Step-thru and high-step | Step-over | Step-over or step-through |
Makers define limits differently, and Velotric's 505 lb is a maximum bike load, which includes the bike, so don't compare it directly with a rider-weight figure. Even so, it is the highest of the three and the XPeak2's 330 lb is the lowest. Heavier riders should read best e-bikes for heavy riders. All three are around 75 lb, so none is easy to carry upstairs.
Maker by maker
| Velotric | Lectric | Aventon | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Warranty | 2-year limited: frame 5 years, battery 2, electrical parts 2, other components 1 | One year on frame, motor, controller and battery | Frame 2 years (lifetime for the original buyer if registered within 90 days), motor and controller 2, battery 2 years or 300 cycles |
| Return window | Request within 14 days of delivery | 14 days in your possession | 14 days from delivery |
| Restocking fee | $200 per bike; prepaid label after authorization | Up to $300, at Lectric's discretion; buyer pays shipping | None for new, unused bikes (1 mile or less); buyer pays $125 return shipping |
| Service | Dealer locator; dealer count and mobile repair not stated | Certified partner shops; contact Lectric support first | Help desk, phone line (Mon to Fri, 9am to 4pm PST), bike-shop locator |
| UL 2849 for this pick | Certified in our records | Certified in our records | Not stated: page names UL 2271 for the battery only |
All three sell online direct. Aventon's online return policy doesn't cover bikes bought from a bike shop, and its warranty applies to new bikes bought in the US or Canada on or after Jan 1, 2026. Before you buy any of them, check that a shop near you will service it.
On safety, UL 2849 covers the whole e-bike electrical system, and UL 2271 covers the battery alone. If whole-system certification matters to you, ask Aventon directly. Whatever you buy, use only the maker's charger and follow the manual; see the CPSC Micromobility Information Center for recalls.
Which should you buy?
Choose the Velotric Nomad 2 if you're a heavier rider or carry a lot, if you're on the shorter side (it starts at 4'11"), or if a 5-year frame warranty matters. You pay $500 more than the XPeak2 and a $200 restocking fee if you return it.
Choose the Lectric XPeak2 if price is the priority and you're 5'4" or taller and within its 330 lb limit. Know the trade-offs: a one-year warranty, an 80 mm fork and a return fee that can reach $300.
Choose the Aventon Aventure 3 if you want the largest battery, a step-through option and the most forgiving returns, and you're comfortable that its page doesn't state UL 2849 for the whole bike. If you want a mid-drive version, Aventon's Aventure M is listed at $2,899 and does state UL 2849.
None of the three is a commuter in the strict sense. For that, see best commuter e-bikes. Laws vary by state; our state checker is general information, not legal advice.
Sources (13)
- Velotric Nomad 2 product page
- Velotric warranty
- Velotric refund policy
- Velotric about us (service)
- Lectric XPeak2 product page
- Lectric warranty
- Lectric refund policy
- Lectric repair and service network
- Aventon Aventure 3 product page
- Aventon warranty
- Aventon return policy
- Aventon about us (service)
- CPSC Micromobility Information Center
Last checked Oct 24, 2026
Keep reading
Buying guideBest Electric Bikes for Heavy Riders: Weight LimitsBest e-bikes for heavy riders ranked by published weight limit, brakes, torque and tire width. Maker prices checked Oct 24, 2026.
Buying guideBest Electric Bikes for Hills: Torque and GearingBest e-bikes for hills ranked by published torque, motor, gears and brakes from makers' specs. Maker prices checked Oct 24, 2026.
ComparisonAventon vs Lectric: Level 4 REC vs XPress2 SpecsAventon vs Lectric compared on published specs, warranty, return terms and service, using the Level 4 REC and XPress2. Prices checked Oct 23, 2026.
ComparisonVelotric vs Aventon: Discover 2 vs Level 4 RECVelotric vs Aventon compared on published specs, warranty, return terms and service, using the Discover 2 and Level 4 REC. Prices checked Oct 23, 2026.
GuideUL 2849: what e-bike battery certification meansWhat UL 2849 e-bike certification covers, what it doesn't, how to check whether a bike has it, and where the official battery safety advice is.
