Velotric Discover M
Riders who want a mid-drive motor with 100 Nm of torque and a 9-speed drivetrain
Based on 5 of 5 specs. Our score of published specs, not a road test. How we score
Maker price $2,499 checked Oct 24, 2026 · source
Last checked Nov 8, 2026 · By EbikePost editors

Short answer
A mid-drive sends power through the chain and gears, which helps on climbs. Seven bikes here are listed as mid-drives by their makers, from $1,295 to $2,899 at maker prices. Our pick: Velotric Discover M.
We compare makers' published specs, warranties and return policies; we don't ride the bikes. How we score →
Disclosure: EbikePost earns a commission from some brands when you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. This never changes our scores.
Riders who want a mid-drive motor with 100 Nm of torque and a 9-speed drivetrain
Based on 5 of 5 specs. Our score of published specs, not a road test. How we score
Maker price $2,499 checked Oct 24, 2026 · source
Riders who want a Brose mid-drive with torque sensing and a 28 mph Class 3 limit
Based on 4 of 5 specs. Our score of published specs, not a road test. How we score
Maker price $1,295 checked Oct 24, 2026 · source
Trail riding: 120 mm fork, dropper post and 29 x 2.6 in tires
Based on 4 of 5 specs. Our score of published specs, not a road test. How we score
Maker price $1,995 checked Oct 24, 2026 · source
Swipe sideways to see every spec →
| Bike | Class | Rider height | UL 2849 | Service | Buy | ||||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Velotric Discover M | Class 1/2/3 (switchable) | Mid-drive, 100 Nm | 801.6 Wh | Up to 95 mi / 29–41 mi | 60 lb | 440 lb | 4'11"–6'7" | UL 2849 certified | Frame 5 yr · battery 2 yr | 14 days | Not stated | $2,499 | Check price at Velotric (opens in a new tab) |
| Ride1Up Prodigy V2 ECO | Class 3 | Mid-drive, 90 Nm | 504 Wh | 30–50 mi / 18–26 mi | 58 lb | 300 lb | 5'0"–6'1" | Not stated by maker | Frame ? yr · battery 1 yr | 30 days | Not stated | $1,295 | Check price at Ride1Up (opens in a new tab) |
| Ride1Up TrailRush | Class 3 | Mid-drive, 90 Nm | 504 Wh | 30–50 mi / 18–26 mi | 58 lb | 350 lb | 5'5"–6'4" | Not stated by maker | Frame ? yr · battery 1 yr | 30 days | Not stated | $1,995 | Check price at Ride1Up (opens in a new tab) |
| Aventon Ramblas ADV | Class 1 | Mid-drive, 100 Nm | 708 Wh | Up to 90 mi / 25–37 mi | 54 lb | 300 lb | 5'5"–6'5" | UL 2849 certified | Frame 2 yr · battery 2 yr | 14 days | Not stated | $2,899 | Check price at Aventon (opens in a new tab) |
| Aventon Aventure M | Class 1 | Mid-drive, 100 Nm | 733 Wh | Up to 85 mi / 26–38 mi | 73 lb | 400 lb | 5'3"–6'4" | UL 2849 certified | Frame 2 yr · battery 2 yr | 14 days | Not stated | $2,899 | Check price at Aventon (opens in a new tab) |
| Aventon Level 4 ADV | Class 1 | Mid-drive, 100 Nm | 800 Wh | Up to 110 mi / 29–41 mi | 61 lb | 300 lb | 5'3"–6'7" | UL 2849 certified | Frame 2 yr · battery 2 yr | 14 days | Not stated | $2,799 | Check price at Aventon (opens in a new tab) |
| Trek Verve+ 2 Lowstep | Class 1 | Mid-drive, 50 Nm | 400 Wh | Up to 50 mi / 14–21 mi | 51.81 lb | 300 lb | 5'1"–6'1" | UL 2849 certified | Not stated | 30 days | Local dealers | $2,399.93 | Check price at Trek (opens in a new tab) |
How we chose
Bikes are ranked by our Hills Spec score, built only from published specs. Weights for this use case:
Warranty & returns: frame 5 yr, motor 2 yr, battery 2 yr · 14-day returns, restocking: $200 per bike · Not stated · Velotric service details
Check price at Velotric (opens in a new tab)Based on 5 of 5 specs. Our score of published specs, not a road test. How we score
Estimate, not a test. Real range varies.
About 30–42 miles
Maker's claimed range: Up to 95 mi
Warranty & returns: frame Not stated, motor 1 yr, battery 1 yr · 30-day returns, restocking: Only for cancelled orders or bikes returned never assembled or tested (amount not stated) · Not stated · Ride1Up service details
Check price at Ride1Up (opens in a new tab)Based on 4 of 5 specs. Our score of published specs, not a road test. How we score
Estimate, not a test. Real range varies.
About 19–27 miles
Maker's claimed range: 30–50 mi
Warranty & returns: frame Not stated, motor 1 yr, battery 1 yr · 30-day returns, restocking: Only for cancelled orders or bikes returned never assembled or tested (amount not stated) · Not stated · Ride1Up service details
Check price at Ride1Up (opens in a new tab)Based on 4 of 5 specs. Our score of published specs, not a road test. How we score
Estimate, not a test. Real range varies.
About 19–27 miles
Maker's claimed range: 30–50 mi
Warranty & returns: frame 2 yr, motor 2 yr, battery 2 yr · 14-day returns, restocking: None for new, unused bikes (1 mile or less on the odometer); 50% for used bikes (under 20 miles) · Not stated · Aventon service details
Check price at Aventon (opens in a new tab)Based on 5 of 5 specs. Our score of published specs, not a road test. How we score
Estimate, not a test. Real range varies.
About 26–38 miles
Maker's claimed range: Up to 90 mi
Warranty & returns: frame 2 yr, motor 2 yr, battery 2 yr · 14-day returns, restocking: None for new, unused bikes (1 mile or less on the odometer); 50% for used bikes (under 20 miles) · Not stated · Aventon service details
Check price at Aventon (opens in a new tab)Based on 5 of 5 specs. Our score of published specs, not a road test. How we score
Estimate, not a test. Real range varies.
About 27–39 miles
Maker's claimed range: Up to 85 mi
Warranty & returns: frame 2 yr, motor 2 yr, battery 2 yr · 14-day returns, restocking: None for new, unused bikes (1 mile or less on the odometer); 50% for used bikes (under 20 miles) · Not stated · Aventon service details
Check price at Aventon (opens in a new tab)Based on 5 of 5 specs. Our score of published specs, not a road test. How we score
Estimate, not a test. Real range varies.
About 29–42 miles
Maker's claimed range: Up to 110 mi
Warranty & returns: frame Not stated, motor Not stated, battery Not stated · 30-day returns, restocking: None stated · Local dealers · Trek service details
Check price at Trek (opens in a new tab)Based on 4 of 5 specs. Our score of published specs, not a road test. How we score
Estimate, not a test. Real range varies.
About 15–21 miles
Maker's claimed range: Up to 50 mi
Is it legal where you live?
This is general information, not legal advice. Rebates near you →
You're halfway up a long grade, the bike is in a gear that suddenly feels too tall, and you wish you could just shift down. On a mid-drive you can, and the motor benefits from the shift too.
A mid-drive motor sits at the bottom bracket, where the cranks are. It pushes the chain, so its power runs through the same gears you use. A hub motor sits in a wheel and turns it directly, no matter what gear you're in. That difference is the whole story:
For the wider picture of how motors, sensors and controllers fit together, see e-bike motor systems explained.
One note on how we label things. Some makers, Velotric among them, don't always say where their hub motor sits. We only call a bike a mid-drive when the maker says so. If a page is silent, we leave the bike out of this list.
Velotric Discover M (maker price $2,499). A commuter-style mid-drive with 100 Nm, a 500 W motor (960 W peak), a throttle, 9 gears and the biggest battery here at 801.6 Wh, with up to 95 miles claimed. It weighs 60 lb without fenders, kickstand or pedals. Riders 4'11" to 6'7"; 440 lb limit. Warranty: frame 5 years, battery and electrical parts 2 years.
Ride1Up Prodigy V2 ECO ($1,295). The least expensive pick here. A Brose mid-drive with 90 Nm and torque sensing, 9 gears, a 504 Wh battery and a Class 3 limit, at 58 lb. No throttle is listed. The page shows it on back-order, expected to ship late October, so check availability first.
Ride1Up TrailRush ($1,995). A trail bike with a torque-sensing Brose mid-drive (90 Nm), a 120 mm fork, dropper post, 29 x 2.6 in tires and quad-piston Tektro brakes. 10 gears, 58 lb, 350 lb limit. The 504 Wh battery means up to 50 miles claimed, the shortest range in the group.
Aventon Ramblas ADV ($2,899). A trail bike with 100 Nm, 12 gears, a 708 Wh battery and 4-piston SRAM brakes. At 54 lb as listed, it's one of the lighter bikes here. The maker lists a 300 lb total limit and riders 5'5" to 6'5".
Aventon Aventure M ($2,899). A fat-tire mid-drive on 26 x 4 in tires with an 80 mm fork, 100 Nm, a 733 Wh removable battery and an electronic 10-speed shifter. It's the heaviest at 73 lb, with a 400 lb limit. No throttle comes with it.
Aventon Level 4 ADV ($2,799). The commuter pick: 100 Nm, an 800 Wh removable battery, 10 gears and up to 110 miles claimed, the longest range here. 61 lb, a step-over frame, and a 300 lb limit. A throttle is compatible but not included.
Trek Verve+ 2 Lowstep ($2,399.93). A step-through Class 1 commuter with a Bosch mid-drive, 50 Nm, a 400 Wh battery and 9 gears. It weighs 51.81 lb in size M, the lightest here, and tops out at 20 mph assist. It's also the only dealer-sold bike on the list. Trek's product page cites 3,000+ Trek retailers, and warranty claims go through an authorized retailer. Practically, that means someone local can look at the bike, and you aren't boxing it up and shipping parts back and forth. The trade is a smaller battery and less torque than the others.
Often, yes. It works through your gears, so you can drop to an easier one on a long grade. Hub motors can still climb, but they can't use your gears. See our hub vs mid-drive guide and our hills picks.
The drivetrain carries the motor's force along with yours, so chains, cassettes and chainrings see more load. Shifting while you ease off the pedals is the usual advice. Your maker's manual has the specifics.
The Level 4 ADV, up to 110 miles. Next are the Discover M (95), Ramblas ADV (90) and Aventure M (85). The Trek and the two Ride1Up bikes list up to 50. These are maker claims, and hills cut range.
Look for UL 2849 certification and use the maker's charger. Our records list the Discover M, Ramblas ADV, Aventure M, Level 4 ADV and Trek Verve+ as certified. Ride1Up's pages for the TrailRush and Prodigy V2 ECO don't state it. For recalls, check the CPSC Micromobility Information Center.
Velotric: 14 days with a $200 restocking fee. Aventon: 14 days, no restocking fee on new, unused bikes, buyer pays $125 shipping, and not for shop purchases. Ride1Up: 30 days with return shipping on you. Trek: 30 days on trekbikes.com; store purchases follow the retailer's rules.
Class limits, age rules and trail access vary by state. Use our state e-bike law checker. It's general information, not legal advice.



Last checked Nov 8, 2026



