Ride1Up CF Racer1
Riders who want a light drop-bar carbon bike: listed at 28.6 lb
Based on 6 of 7 specs. Our score of published specs, not a road test. How we score
Maker price $2,195 checked Oct 24, 2026 · source
Last checked Nov 7, 2026 · By EbikePost editors

Short answer
The lightest bikes trade battery size and sometimes a throttle for pounds. Check whether the listed weight includes the battery before you compare, because some makers say it doesn't. Our pick: Ride1Up CF Racer1.
We compare makers' published specs, warranties and return policies; we don't ride the bikes. How we score →
Disclosure: EbikePost earns a commission from some brands when you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. This never changes our scores.
Riders who want a light drop-bar carbon bike: listed at 28.6 lb
Based on 6 of 7 specs. Our score of published specs, not a road test. How we score
Maker price $2,195 checked Oct 24, 2026 · source
Light city riding: 37 lb with a single-speed Gates carbon belt drive
Based on 6 of 7 specs. Our score of published specs, not a road test. How we score
Maker price $1,499 checked Oct 24, 2026 · source
Lifting and storing: 39 lb with the battery, 34 lb without
Based on 6 of 7 specs. Our score of published specs, not a road test. How we score
Maker price $1,499 checked Oct 24, 2026 · source
Swipe sideways to see every spec →
| Bike | Class | Rider height | UL 2849 | Service | Buy | ||||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ride1Up CF Racer1 | Class 3 | Rear hub, 42 Nm | 252 Wh | 16–40 mi / 9–13 mi | 28.6 lb | 225 lb | 5'3"–6'3" | Not stated by maker | Frame ? yr · battery 1 yr | 30 days | Not stated | $2,195 | Check price at Ride1Up (opens in a new tab) |
| Aventon Soltera 3 ADV | Class 1 | Rear hub, 40 Nm | 366.8 Wh | Up to 70 mi / 13–19 mi | 37 lb | 300 lb | 5'1"–6'4" | Not stated by maker | Frame 2 yr · battery 2 yr | 14 days | Not stated | $1,499 | Check price at Aventon (opens in a new tab) |
| Velotric Tempo | Class 1/2/3 (switchable) | Hub motor, 45 Nm | 374 Wh | Up to 60 mi / 13–19 mi | 39 lb | 330 lb | 4'10"–6'4" | UL 2849 certified | Frame 5 yr · battery 2 yr | 14 days | Not stated | $1,499 | Check price at Velotric (opens in a new tab) |
| Ride1Up Roadster V3 | Class 1/2/3 (switchable) | Rear hub, 50 Nm | 360 Wh | 20–40 mi / 13–19 mi | 40 lb | 300 lb | 5'2"–6'4" | UL 2849 certified | Frame ? yr · battery 1 yr | 30 days | Not stated | $1,295 | Check price at Ride1Up (opens in a new tab) |
| Lectric eBikes XP Lite2 | Class 2 | Rear hub, 28 Nm | 375 Wh | Up to 45 mi / 13–19 mi | 48 lb | 275 lb | 4'8"–6'2" | UL 2849 certified | Frame 1 yr · battery 1 yr | 14 days | Not stated | $799 | Check price at Lectric (opens in a new tab) |
| Velotric Breeze 1 | Class 1/2/3 (switchable) | Hub motor, 65 Nm | 627 Wh | Up to 70 mi / 23–32 mi | 48 lb | 330 lb | 4'11"–6'4" | UL 2849 certified | Frame 5 yr · battery 2 yr | 14 days | Not stated | $1,799 | Check price at Velotric (opens in a new tab) |
How we chose
Bikes are ranked by the weight each maker lists, lightest first; where a maker lists weight without the battery, the bike's notes say so. Every number comes from the makers' published specs; the Spec scores shown on each bike are for reference.
Warranty & returns: frame Not stated, motor 1 yr, battery 1 yr · 30-day returns, restocking: Only for cancelled orders or bikes returned never assembled or tested (amount not stated) · Not stated · Ride1Up service details
Check price at Ride1Up (opens in a new tab)Based on 6 of 7 specs. Our score of published specs, not a road test. How we score
Estimate, not a test. Real range varies.
About 9–13 miles
Maker's claimed range: 16–40 mi
Warranty & returns: frame 2 yr, motor 2 yr, battery 2 yr · 14-day returns, restocking: None for new, unused bikes (1 mile or less on the odometer); 50% for used bikes (under 20 miles) · Not stated · Aventon service details
Check price at Aventon (opens in a new tab)Based on 6 of 7 specs. Our score of published specs, not a road test. How we score
Estimate, not a test. Real range varies.
About 14–19 miles
Maker's claimed range: Up to 70 mi
Warranty & returns: frame 5 yr, motor 2 yr, battery 2 yr · 14-day returns, restocking: $200 per bike · Not stated · Velotric service details
Check price at Velotric (opens in a new tab)Based on 6 of 7 specs. Our score of published specs, not a road test. How we score
Estimate, not a test. Real range varies.
About 14–20 miles
Maker's claimed range: Up to 60 mi
Warranty & returns: frame Not stated, motor 1 yr, battery 1 yr · 30-day returns, restocking: Only for cancelled orders or bikes returned never assembled or tested (amount not stated) · Not stated · Ride1Up service details
Check price at Ride1Up (opens in a new tab)Based on 7 of 7 specs. Our score of published specs, not a road test. How we score
Estimate, not a test. Real range varies.
About 13–19 miles
Maker's claimed range: 20–40 mi
Warranty & returns: frame 1 yr, motor 1 yr, battery 1 yr · 14-day returns, restocking: Up to $300, at Lectric's discretion · Not stated · Lectric eBikes service details
Check price at Lectric (opens in a new tab)Based on 6 of 7 specs. Our score of published specs, not a road test. How we score
Estimate, not a test. Real range varies.
About 14–20 miles
Maker's claimed range: Up to 45 mi
Warranty & returns: frame 5 yr, motor 2 yr, battery 2 yr · 14-day returns, restocking: $200 per bike · Not stated · Velotric service details
Check price at Velotric (opens in a new tab)Based on 6 of 7 specs. Our score of published specs, not a road test. How we score
Estimate, not a test. Real range varies.
About 23–33 miles
Maker's claimed range: Up to 70 mi
Is it legal where you live?
This is general information, not legal advice. Rebates near you →
You live up a flight of stairs, or you want to hoist the bike onto a rack twice a week. Every pound counts there. This page lists the lightest e-bikes we recommend, ordered by the maker's listed weight. We don't weigh the bikes ourselves, and the makers don't all count weight the same way (how we score).
Ride1Up CF Racer1 (maker price on Oct 24, 2026: $2,195). The lightest bike we recommend at 28.6 lb as listed. It's a carbon, drop-bar road bike with a 252 Wh internal battery, 12 speeds, a Class 3 28 mph limit, no throttle and a 225 lb weight limit. A fast, light bike, not an all-rounder. Claimed range is 16 to 40 miles.
Aventon Soltera 3 ADV ($1,499). 37 lb as listed, a single-speed Gates carbon belt drive, a quiet 250 W motor with a torque sensor, 20 mph top speed, 366.8 Wh and a claim of up to 70 miles. Riders 5'1" to 6'4". It has no throttle, and our records show UL 2849 as not stated; the page says "UL Safety Certified". Aventon gives 2 years on the frame, motor and battery.
Velotric Tempo ($1,499). 39 lb with its removable 374 Wh battery, 34 lb without, both listed by Velotric. A 350 W hub motor (650 W peak, 45 Nm), a throttle, 8 gears and Shimano hydraulic brakes. Velotric gives a 5-year frame warranty and a 2-year battery warranty.
Ride1Up Roadster V3 ($1,295). 40 lb in the "gravel setup" row, a 360 Wh removable battery, 500 W rear hub, a torque sensor, a throttle and 9 gears. the least expensive pick here, with a claim of 20 to 40 miles. Its weight limit is 300 lb. Ride1Up's return window is 30 days, but its page says returns are accepted only for cancelled orders or bikes never assembled or tested, so read the policy before you order.
Lectric XP Lite2 ($799). The lightest folder we recommend: 48 lb with the battery, folding to 36 x 16 x 27 in, which is about 9 cubic feet by our arithmetic. It's single-speed, Class 2 at 20 mph, with a 300 W motor, 375 Wh and a 275 lb limit. A longer-range 672 Wh battery costs extra. Lectric's refund policy lets it charge up to $300 on returns at its discretion.
Velotric Breeze 1 ($1,799). A step-through at 48 lb with the battery (40.8 lb without), a 750 W hub, a removable 627 Wh battery and a claim of up to 70 miles. It has the most battery in this group. Riders 4'11" to 6'4".
If stairs are your problem, the folding Lite2 and the removable-battery bikes help most: you can carry the frame and the battery in two trips. If it's a car rack, remember the rack's limit applies to the whole bike, battery on or off per the rack maker's instructions.
If you ride long distances or climb steep hills every day, a light bike with a 250 to 375 Wh battery will leave you short. Heavier riders or anyone carrying cargo should look at bikes for heavy riders first. And if you need a bike that fits in a car trunk rather than on a rack, a folder is a better fit; compare the XP4 and the RadExpand 5 Plus and see our folding picks.
Of the bikes we recommend, the Ride1Up CF Racer1 at 28.6 lb as listed. Among bikes with a throttle, the Velotric Tempo at 39 lb with its battery is the lightest in our records.
Most e-bikes in our records weigh 60 to 90 lb, so 40 lb is light. It's still a lot to carry up stairs, which is why a removable battery matters.
It depends on the maker. We note it wherever the maker's page says. Aventon, Ride1Up and some Velotric pages don't say, so treat those weights as approximate and ask the maker.
Maybe. Check the rack's maker limit per bike and the bike's total weight. Platform hitch racks usually handle e-bikes best; see our rack guide.
Not necessarily less safe, but smaller motors and batteries are common. Look for UL 2849 certification of the whole system and use only the maker's charger. Our records list the XP Lite2, Tempo, Breeze 1 and Roadster V3 as certified. Official guidance is at the CPSC Micromobility Information Center.
Class rules, age limits and helmet laws vary. Use our state e-bike law checker. It is general information, not legal advice.



Last checked Nov 7, 2026


