Aventon Aventure M
Rough and mixed surfaces on 26 x 4 in tires with an 80 mm suspension fork
Based on 5 of 5 specs. Our score of published specs, not a road test. How we score
Maker price $2,899 checked Oct 24, 2026 · source
Last checked Nov 6, 2026 · By EbikePost editors

Short answer
Fat tires suit sand, snow and loose ground and cost you weight on pavement. Six verified bikes qualify, and only one, the Aventon Aventure M, has a mid-drive. Our pick: Aventon Aventure M.
We compare makers' published specs, warranties and return policies; we don't ride the bikes. How we score →
Disclosure: EbikePost earns a commission from some brands when you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. This never changes our scores.
Rough and mixed surfaces on 26 x 4 in tires with an 80 mm suspension fork
Based on 5 of 5 specs. Our score of published specs, not a road test. How we score
Maker price $2,899 checked Oct 24, 2026 · source
Mixed surfaces on 26 x 4.0 in fat tires with a 100 mm suspension fork
Based on 5 of 5 specs. Our score of published specs, not a road test. How we score
Maker price $1,999 checked Oct 23, 2026 · source
Rough surfaces: 26 x 4 in tires with a 120 mm air fork and an 80 mm rear shock
Based on 4 of 5 specs. Our score of published specs, not a road test. How we score
Maker price $2,399 checked Oct 24, 2026 · source
Swipe sideways to see every spec →
| Bike | Class | Rider height | UL 2849 | Service | Buy | ||||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aventon Aventure M | Class 1 | Mid-drive, 100 Nm | 733 Wh | Up to 85 mi / 26–38 mi | 73 lb | 400 lb | 5'3"–6'4" | UL 2849 certified | Frame 2 yr · battery 2 yr | 14 days | Not stated | $2,899 | Check price at Aventon (opens in a new tab) |
| Velotric Nomad 2 | Class 1/2/3 (switchable) | Hub motor, 90 Nm | 705.6 Wh | Up to 65 mi / 25–37 mi | 75 lb | 505 lb | 4'11"–6'5" | UL 2849 certified | Frame 5 yr · battery 2 yr | 14 days | Not stated | $1,999 | Check price at Velotric (opens in a new tab) |
| Velotric Nomad 2X | Class 1/2/3 (switchable) | Hub motor, 105 Nm | 801.6 Wh | Up to 75 mi / 29–41 mi | 80 lb | 560 lb | 4'11"–6'5" | UL 2849 certified | Frame 5 yr · battery 2 yr | 14 days | Not stated | $2,399 | Check price at Velotric (opens in a new tab) |
| Lectric eBikes XPeak2 | Class 1/2/3 (switchable) | Rear hub, 85 Nm | 720 Wh | Up to 60 mi / 26–37 mi | 75 lb | 330 lb | 5'4"–6'5" | UL 2849 certified | Frame 1 yr · battery 1 yr | 14 days | Not stated | $1,499 | Check price at Lectric (opens in a new tab) |
| Aventon Aventure 3 | Class 2 | Rear hub, 80 Nm | 733 Wh | Up to 65 mi / 26–38 mi | 76 lb | 400 lb | 5'3"–6'4" | Not stated by maker | Frame 2 yr · battery 2 yr | 14 days | Not stated | $1,999 | Check price at Aventon (opens in a new tab) |
| Heybike Ranger 3.0 Pro | Class 1/2/3 (switchable) | Rear hub, 80 Nm | 720 Wh | Up to 90 mi / 26–37 mi | 75 lb | 440 lb | Not stated | UL 2849 certified | Frame 2 yr · battery 2 yr | 30 days | Not stated | $1,399 | Check price at Heybike (opens in a new tab) |
How we chose
Bikes are ranked by our Hills Spec score, built only from published specs. Weights for this use case:
Warranty & returns: frame 2 yr, motor 2 yr, battery 2 yr · 14-day returns, restocking: None for new, unused bikes (1 mile or less on the odometer); 50% for used bikes (under 20 miles) · Not stated · Aventon service details
Check price at Aventon (opens in a new tab)Based on 5 of 5 specs. Our score of published specs, not a road test. How we score
Estimate, not a test. Real range varies.
About 27–39 miles
Maker's claimed range: Up to 85 mi
Warranty & returns: frame 5 yr, motor 2 yr, battery 2 yr · 14-day returns, restocking: $200 per bike · Not stated · Velotric service details
Check price at Velotric (opens in a new tab)Based on 5 of 5 specs. Our score of published specs, not a road test. How we score
Estimate, not a test. Real range varies.
About 26–37 miles
Maker's claimed range: Up to 65 mi
Warranty & returns: frame 5 yr, motor 2 yr, battery 2 yr · 14-day returns, restocking: $200 per bike · Not stated · Velotric service details
Check price at Velotric (opens in a new tab)Based on 4 of 5 specs. Our score of published specs, not a road test. How we score
Estimate, not a test. Real range varies.
About 30–42 miles
Maker's claimed range: Up to 75 mi
Warranty & returns: frame 1 yr, motor 1 yr, battery 1 yr · 14-day returns, restocking: Up to $300, at Lectric's discretion · Not stated · Lectric eBikes service details
Check price at Lectric (opens in a new tab)Based on 5 of 5 specs. Our score of published specs, not a road test. How we score
Estimate, not a test. Real range varies.
About 27–38 miles
Maker's claimed range: Up to 60 mi
Warranty & returns: frame 2 yr, motor 2 yr, battery 2 yr · 14-day returns, restocking: None for new, unused bikes (1 mile or less on the odometer); 50% for used bikes (under 20 miles) · Not stated · Aventon service details
Check price at Aventon (opens in a new tab)Based on 5 of 5 specs. Our score of published specs, not a road test. How we score
Estimate, not a test. Real range varies.
About 27–39 miles
Maker's claimed range: Up to 65 mi
Warranty & returns: frame 2 yr, motor 2 yr, battery 2 yr · 30-day returns, restocking: None for a new, unused bike returned within 14 days; 20% for 15 to 30 days; 50% if used · Not stated · Heybike service details
Check price at Heybike (opens in a new tab)Based on 4 of 5 specs. Our score of published specs, not a road test. How we score
Estimate, not a test. Real range varies.
About 27–38 miles
Maker's claimed range: Up to 90 mi
Is it legal where you live?
This is general information, not legal advice. Rebates near you →
You're looking at a bike with tires about as wide as your wrist, and you want to know if you actually need them. Sometimes you do. Often you don't.
How we ranked: these are all of our verified bikes in the fat-tire category. There's no fat-tire score, so we ordered them by our hills Spec score (torque, motor type, gears, peak power and brakes), since rough ground and slopes ask for the same things. It's a read of published specs, not a road test (how we score).
Aventon Aventure M ($2,899, best overall). The top score on paper and the only mid-drive fat tire from Aventon: 100 Nm, an electronic shifter with 10 gears, a 733 Wh battery and an 80 mm fork. It's Class 1, which means no throttle. Aventon lists only an aftermarket throttle. It weighs 73 lb and lists riders 5'3" to 6'4". It's the most expensive pick by far.
Velotric Nomad 2 ($1,999, best under $2,000). A 750 W rear hub, 90 Nm, a 705.6 Wh removable battery, a 100 mm fork and 203 mm front brake rotors. The maker lists riders 4'11" to 6'5" depending on frame and seatpost, and a 505 lb max load. It weighs 75 lb. Velotric lists five years on the frame and two on the battery.
Velotric Nomad 2X ($2,399, most torque and load). The strongest hub-motor pick: 105 Nm, a 120 mm air fork, an 80 mm rear shock and an 801.6 Wh battery. Max load is 560 lb, the highest here, but it's also the heaviest at 80 lb.
Lectric XPeak2 ($1,499, best value). The cheapest full-size pick. A 750 W motor with 85 Nm, a 720 Wh battery, an 80 mm fork and Class 1, 2 and 3 modes. It's 64.5 lb without the battery, and the max rider weight is 330 lb. Riders 5'4" to 6'5". One-year warranty.
Aventon Aventure 3 ($1,999, best with a throttle and sizes). 80 Nm, a 733 Wh removable battery, a throttle and an 80 mm fork, in step-over or step-through, Regular and Large. It's 76 lb. The listing names UL 2271 for the battery only, so look for a UL 2849 statement before you count on one.
Heybike Ranger 3.0 Pro ($1,399, best folding fat-tire). A folding step-through with 20 x 4 in tires, 80 Nm, a 720 Wh battery and a 2-year warranty. Heybike's page doesn't list a rider-height range, so check fit with the maker before you buy. Its return policy runs 30 days, with fees after the first 14.
If you ride mostly on pavement, you probably don't want fat tires: you'd carry the weight and the drag for no gain. The same goes if you need to lift the bike onto a car rack or up steps. Every pick lists 73 lb or more (the XPeak2 is 64.5 lb only without its battery). A commuter will be lighter, faster on the road and cheaper. Our commuter picks are a better start.
On paper, the Aventon Aventure M scores highest, but it costs $2,899 and has no throttle. Under $2,000, the Velotric Nomad 2 lists the most torque and the longest warranty on the frame.
The Lectric XPeak2 at $1,499 is the lowest-priced full-size pick. The Heybike Ranger 3.0 Pro is $1,399 but folds and has smaller 20-inch wheels.
Fat tires help with grip on snow, and several makers list them for mixed and off-road surfaces. Cold affects batteries too, and we don't hold maker numbers for it, so read the maker's manual. See e-bike winter care.
The picks with 26 x 4 in tires and a suspension fork list mixed and off-road surfaces. Many trails restrict e-bikes, so check the land manager's rules first.
The Nomad 2X lists a 560 lb max load and the Nomad 2 lists 505 lb. Check the maker's page for your exact size.
State e-bike laws are generally written around class, motor power and speed, and where you ride, rather than tire width. See our state e-bike law pages. This is general information, not legal advice.



Last checked Nov 6, 2026


